

Fellowship of the Australian College of Educators is one of the highest honours that the College can bestow, and should be seen by College Members and Fellows, and by the wider education community, to be a recognition of outstanding and distinctive contributions to the advancement of education. The College Council awards Fellowships on the recommendation of its National Awards Committee. Nominations must also receive prior consideration by Branch Awards Committees.

The National Awards Committee and the Branch Awards Committees make decisions based on the written evidence placed before them. A Fellowship is a national award and the evidence offered must provide sufficient proof that the person is indeed worthy of this highly prestigious award.

College Fellows Awarded 2012

The Australian College of Educators (ACE) National Council is delighted to announce the College Fellows for 2012. These awards were granted to educators who have been judged by their peers to have made a distinctive contribution to education in Australia. Congratulations to all award recipients.

Dr Kathryn Brennan FACE



Dr Kathryn Brennan - Seminar Leader, University of Sydney NSW

For outstanding educational and system leadership through a career commitment to achieving excellence, equity and innovation in public education by building school leadership capability and capacity.



Dr Paul March FACE



Dr Paul March - Educational Consultant, University of Technology NSW

For his outstanding contribution to the teaching and learning of literacy in the primary years with special attention given to reading, writing, speech communication, children's literature and drama and for his leadership to professional associations, community organisations and The Hills/ Parramatta Group of the Australian College of Educators.

Emeritus Professor Bruce King FACE



Emeritus Professor Bruce King - University of New England, NSW

For outstanding contributions to teaching, learning and research in higher education with particular emphasis on equity provision through distance education and strong leadership in the field, both nationally and internationally.

Mr Michael Urwin FACE

Mr Michael Urwin - Principal, Brighton Grammar, Vic

For distinctive and wide ranging contributions to education and educational leadership sustained over many years, particularly in the area of school leadership within the Independent sector at both the State and National Level.



Mr Milton Cujes FACE



Mr Milton Cujes - Principal, Trinity Grammar School NSW

For distinguished, innovative, passionate and visionary leadership in working with staff to implement programmes and teaching practices to achieve the highest outcomes particularly in primary and secondary boys' education.

Mr Peter Kearns FACE

Mr Peter Kearns - Managing Director, Global Learning Services

For outstanding and sustained contribution to conceptualising, establishing, maintaining and enhancing lifelong learning and learning communities internationally and within Australia.

Mr Richard Ford FACE



Mr Richard Ford - Director of Teaching and Learning, St Andrews Cathedral School, NSW

For outstanding educational leadership in the professional learning and leadership development of teachers, as well as providing outstanding quality education for students; and for significant contributions to the teaching community through his additional teaching roles at universities and his inspiring service to professional education associations including ACE.



Mr Roger Pryor FACE



Mr Roger Pryor - School Education Director, Hunter Central Coast Region, NSW Department of Education & Communities

Roger Pryor is an outstanding educator who has inspired, encouraged and mentored aspiring leaders within the NSW public education system, actively promoting the impact of developments in technology on leadership, and advocating successful change management through collaboration and innovative professional learning.

Mrs Elaine Blake FACE

Mrs Elaine Blake - Early Childhood Education Consultant, The Associate of Independent Schools of WA

For continued advancement of the Early Childhood teaching profession through educational leadership and research at the local, state and national levels.

Mrs Elizabeth OCarrigan FACE



Mrs Elizabeth OCarrigan - Regional Director, Catholic Education Office, NSW

For outstanding leadership at school and system levels in building leadership and teacher capacity and raising the status of the teaching profession.



Mrs Vicki Treble FACE



Mrs Vicki Treble, Principal, Balgowlah North Public School, NSW

For outstanding educational leadership as a transformational principal in the NSW public education system, and for her contributions to ACE as a regional president and as Primary Schools Chair of the NSW Quality Teaching Awards, leading the State professional development programs for teachers aspiring to this award, and guiding them in the preparation of professional portfolios

Ms Ann McIntyre FACE



Ms Ann McIntyre - Director of Professional Learning and Leadership Development. NSW Department of Education & Communities

Ann McIntyre has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the professional learning and leadership development of educators in the NSW public education system and has made significant contributions to the NSW Institute of Teachers and to AITSL, in her role as a national expert responsible for developing the National Professional Standards for Principals

Ms Laura Keating FACE

Ms Laura Keating - Principal, Clairvaux McKillop College, Qld

For an outstanding contribution to leadership in Catholic secondary education in Queensland and for the enhancement of an inclusive educational culture at local, state and international level.



Ms Susan Mann FACE

Ms Susan Mann - CEO, Education Services Australia

For contribution to national curriculum and the provision of high quality curriculum resources, as well as a contribution and support to education in Asia

Professor Karen Starr FACE

Professor Karen Starr - Chair of School Development & Leadership, Deakin University, Vic

For a contribution to Education as a teacher, Educational Leader, Curriculum Writer and Researcher across Victoria and South Australia in the Government, Independent and Tertiary sectors.

Reverend Alan Dale FACE

Revd Alan Dale - Dean of School, Brisbane Girls Grammar Qld

For an outstanding contribution to the enhancement of Study of Religion, secondary education and the professional status of teachers at the local level